Laziness: I’m Afraid

This is part two of two in a series on laziness.

Tuesday I talked about how sometimes laziness can stem from a feeling that we don’t really have to try. Today, I want to think about laziness that’s driven by fear. Fear can be useful when it acts as a proper motivator. For example: I don”t want to get sucked up by a tornado, so when the sirens go off, I take my family and move to the basement.

But other times, fear just gets in our way, especially when it comes to laziness. What fears might we need to overcome to get past our laziness?

  1. Fear of burnout – Laziness can easily create a place of comfort, and we don’t like to be uncomfortable. You know you could work harder and create something more.  But what if we put forward our true potential, and we’re asked for more than that?  No one wants to feel burned out or overworked, and as long as we can maintain a level of laziness we don’t have to risk reaching that point.Of course on the flip side, you’re left with work and life that feels unfulfilled.  One of the problems we’re facing here is that we’re not being honest with ourselves. We’ve been lying to ourselves about what we can accomplish, and in order to keep that lie up, we’ve been lying to ourselves about what we think we can handle.  The fact is, we can probably handle a lot. And even more, if we learned to be honest with ourselves, we could learn when the right time is to say “No!” which solves the burnout problem altogether.
  2. Fear of failure – Failing bites.  No one wants to be a failure to others or to themselves.  I mean, what if we work hard and pour our all into that next project and it blows up in our face? Or it’s ridiculed by others? Or we just plain aren’t satisfied with it?  We might throw our work down and never come back! We just can’t deal with the rejection. Right?

    Wrong.  People are pretty malleable: rejection won’t kill us.  Additionally, how many lessons have you learned from being awesome? But how many times has a mistake allowed you to be more awesome next time?  Making mistakes isn’t fun, but for most of my mistakes (at least the ones I consider major) I learned a lesson I won’t forget. And because I won’t make that mistake again, my work and passion increases as compared to next time.

So, do we continue in our laziness, paralyzed by fear, or do we take a risk.  Maybe it’s time to look at yourself and ask, “Am I just afraid? Am I not being all I can because I’m worried about failure or burnout?”  If the answers to those questions is yes, then great! Because knowing what’s holding you back allows you take the risk, break free, and move forward.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

